Showing posts with label Giambi. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Giambi. Show all posts

Saturday, August 11

On the Juice?: Jason Giambi

College:

A's:


Yankees:
Verdict: Guilty

Thursday, May 24

Random Thoughts

Sweatball.

Jason Giambi didn’t test positive for amphetamines. That was the medication he takes for his overactive sweat glands. I mean have you SEEN this guy? It can be the first inning of a night game with temps in the 40’s and he’s drenched when he steps to the plate (even though he’s a DH!). It’s like he sits in a sauna between at bats.


It was the Dukes!

I don't want to make light of the despicable things Elijah Dukes supposedly has done (there are few things lower than an abusive husband) . I'm setting the over/under on the number of seasons in the bigs before he self destructs completely at 2 1/2 seasons. (By the way, bonus points to those of you who caught the subtle Trading Places reference in the first line.)


Just call me Samson.

Apparently Samson isn’t the only one who derived his power from his hair. Magglio Ordonez’s magnificent locks, threatening to challenge Oscar Gamble:

for the greatest ‘do in history (well, not really), have propelled him to a dramatic return to his White Sox level performance. As a Tigers fan, I haven’t seen him play this well while wearing the Olde English D, and it’s a bit jarring. Maggs appeared to be headed down the 20 HR, 80 RBI path, but suddenly he’s back on the 35 HR, 110 RBI track.


Kablammo!

That’s the sound of Milton Bradley’s hammy blowing up. Granted, nothing of the sort actually happened, it’s just a continued soreness, but still. I read an article recently that suggested that the A’s new “Moneyballesque” philosophy was to get a bunch of injury prone guys. Well mission accomplished with MB. Bradley has had many problems, both injury and attitude, over the course of his career. So much so that it’s hard to tell what a healthy season might look like for him. Personally, I think a healthy season probably looks something like this: .280 – 25 HR – 85 RBI – 85 Runs – 15 SB.

Tuesday, May 22

Relaunch - Sexy vs Giambino

So where were we?

Obviously, there's a bit of a gap in posts. I was chugging along pretty good and then, not so much.

Anyway, let's relight this thing.

Today's topic is especially appropriate, as both Richie Sexson and Jason Giambi have been getting a fair amount of notice in fantasyland lately, mostly for the wrong reasons. Big Sexy has been getting ferociously booed by the Mariner faithful, while Giambi has been struggling recently with a bruised heel (no truth to the rumor he injured it while putting him foot in his mouth with his recent "MLB should apologize for my steroid use" proclamation). It was reported today that the Angels might have an interest in acquiring the Giambino.

As the owner of Mr. Giambi in a keeper league, I would welcome the move out back west. Obviously, the Angels don't have quite the offensive firepower of the Yanks, but it just doesn't seem to me like Giambi ever was a good fit for New York.

I want to see less of this tool:



And more of this badass:



Of course, part of the A's look was the roid rage, but still.

Now, getting back to Big Sexy, the reason I mention him in this post is that he's involved in a good old fashioned challenge trade I've currently got proposed. I don't plan on being that guy who tells stories about his fantasy league, but I think this is a worthwhile topic of discussion.

Jason Giambi for Richie Sexson, straight up, in a keeper league. Giambi was born 1/8/71, Sexson was born 12/29/74. So clearly, the age factor favors Giambi. Giambi is performing somewhat better this season, mostly in average (.272 vs .172). The two are really quite similar, and have had similar seasons each of the last two years.

Giambi's prime years are probably better than Sexson's, the dude did win the MVP. Giambi's days of hitting over .300 are probably done, but is OBP has been consistently over .400 throughout his career (career .413 versus .348 for Sexson).

Giambi and Sexson have each had one major injury in their career (if I recall correctly). Giambi with his bizarre pituatary gland thing, and Sexson 2 shoulder surgeries. Both of those injuries are in the past and don't seem to have any lingering affects.

Basically, Sexson is a younger version of Giambi, with a little less plate discipline. Giambi's a little older, but is under contract for one more year than Sexson. Sexson's deal is up after next season, Giambi's the season after. Neither player's current team is very likely to resign them once their contract is up (hell, the Yankees have thought about trying to void Giambi's deal)

This one could go either way, which is exactly what makes for a good challenge trade.